Day to Day and Dot a Dot

Today we did one of No. 1’s favorite things – Dot a Dot markers.  She loves those things!  There’s a picture of her filling in the dots on her Letter A page (I haven’t learned how to separate the pictures).  You can see the little flannel washcloth I hung on the shelf next to her desk that she can use when she makes a mistake with her Dot a Dot markers or dry erase markers.  It was one of those spur-of-the-moment ideas that has worked really well for us!

She also did a few pattern pages using her Pattern Blocks.  (I’m pretty sure we called these Tangrams in my Teaching Math class in college?  Maybe they went through an identity crisis or I’m remembering the wrong thing.  Both scenarios are very likely.

After we do our Morning Board, we fill in her Daily Learning Notebook.  This is also from Confessions of a Homeschooler.  I put each sheet in a clear page protecter and have her use a dry erase marker so we can reuse the sheet each week.  There’s a picture of No. 1 working on her notebook.

We have a Jump Start workbook that I picked up somewhere along the way, so I planned on have No. 1 do a page or two each day so we can use it all year long.  Well, after three days she’s on page 21 since she loves it so much, so I don’t think that plan will work!  It doesn’t bother me that she loves to do school work!

No. 1 also did a few puzzles, pre-writing practice, and counting the apple seed matching.

One more day of school this week and then I’m taking a personal day on Friday!  =)  Mr. Pencil will be teaching while I’m away at a Ladies Retreat with our church.

Leave a Reply

