Apple Pie Crockpot Oatmeal

A friend of mine shared this recipe on facebook recently.  It was really good, but I’m not too much of a pumpkin pie fan.  Horror of horrors, I know.  I don’t like coffee either.  Feel free to unfriend me at any time!

So, I tried the pumpkin pie recipe and the girls really liked it!  Me?  Notsomuch.  It was tolerable, which is better than loathing, so maybe it was a success?  But as I was eating it, I thought, “I really just like apple pie better!  Why can’t I make an apple pie version?!”  So I did!

Here’s what I did.  Everything besides the oats and water are optional so pick and choose what you want to add.  I added raisins because they’re a fan favorite in my house and it’s a perfect way to use up raisins that have crossed over to the crunchy side.  (Side note: If raisins are dried up grapes, then what are dried up raisins?  How is that even possible?)

Apple Pie Crockpot Oatmeal

1 cup steel cut oats
4 cups water*
1 apple, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup raisins
pinch salt

*(most recipes say 3 cups for 1 cup of oats, but my crockpot must be extra hot because 3 dries it up.  Experiment with this!)

Nutmeg would also be nice, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Apple Pie Crockpot Oatmeal

  1. Sarah, my husband loves raisins when they get dried out. He leaves the lid off on purpose so they’ll get hard. But he hates raisins “in” anything…cookies, bread, oatmeal. So we’d have to skip that part if I were to try this. 🙂 I’m enjoying catching up with your family and your adventures in homeschooling. So fun. 🙂
    Mandy

Leave a Reply

