First Day of Kindergarten

Today’s the big day!  We started Kindergarten today.  Yes, in March.  Here’s the sitch (does it make me cool or lame that I just said that?  Nevermind.  Don’t answer.)  We had been doing preschool since September.  It was going well . . . until about November.  After that, if we were honest with ourselves, we were getting kind of bored of it.  By January, we ended each day in tears (mostly No. 1, but also Mommy at times).  Since she already knew all the letters and their sounds, it was just a lot of repetition, and my girl started to HATE school.  I put on the brakes when that happened.  I don’t want her to hate school . . . at least not until about 6th grade – that’s when I started counting down the years!  And then I became a teacher and spent even more time in school.  (It’s more fun on my side of the desk!)

So, we haven’t “done school” for almost two months.  Shame.  I wanted time to regroup and decide what we were going to do.  I researched and thought and researched and thought.  We decided on our curriculum a few weeks later, then we (okay, it was 100% me) spent many hours planning and preparing and making spreadsheets because that’s how I accomplish things.  I like spreadsheets *almost* as much as I like the smell of pencils (and all things office product)!!

We are using Sonlight for Reading, History and Bible; Horizons for Math; Explode the Code for Phonics; A Reason for Handwriting for . . . wait for it . . . Handwriting; and Mama’s Brain for Science and Journaling.

I will post updates pictures later of our room since I changed a few things (including a workbox system)  Yippee!

 For now, this is our schedule:

Morning Board (weather, time, date, etc.)
Bible
Math
Reading
Snack (a complete joke since the entire “day” took just over an hour!  But she was happy!)
History
Phonics M/W, Handwriting T/Th
Journaling M/W, Science T/Th

It went really well.  I think No. 1 will take some time to get used to all the “being read to without many pictures thing,” but so far we loved it!

Our plan is to work from March until the end of May, then take a summer vacation with everyone else (with some stuff in there so we don’t forget everything!)  Then we’ll start back up in September and finish next May with everyone else.  To spread it out, I have 3 months that are dedicated to author studies.  I think that will make it a lot of fun for both of us!Image

One thought on “First Day of Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

